Archive for January, 2008

Did Al & I Blow It

Thursday, January 24th, 2008

At the 2006 Nationals in Coldwater, Uncle Al and I were competing head to head with Dave Nickels. At one time on the course, we were on S with Dave to windward and we felt a wind shift. We tacked expecting to easily duck Dave’s stern. The wind switched causing Dave to fall off almost 90 degrees while we were tacking. Imagine our shock and how hard we had to scramble to duck Dave rather than T-bone him. Even so, we felt a bump and suspected it was contact in the rigging.Rules question – If there was contact who had to do the penalty

Quiz 11

Monday, January 21st, 2008

Boats S and P, two close-hauled dinghies, are approaching each other on a collision course in medium breeze.  P fails to keep clear and S bears away to pass astern of P.  As she passes astern of P, S accidentally hits the starboard corner of P’s transom, putting a small crack in S’s bow and a 12-inch scratch along her starboard bow.  She is safe to continue the race.  P immediately does a Two-Turn Penalty and protests S.  You are on the protest committee; how would you decide?

Quiz 2

Monday, January 21st, 2008

A more experienced helmsman of a port-tack boat (P) hails “starboard!” to a beginner who, although on starboard tack, not being sure of himself and worried about having his boat holed, tacks to port to avoid the collision.  A third boat in the race protests the situation.  You are on the protest committee; how would you decide?

Dave Perry’s 100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes

Monday, January 21st, 2008

Reprinted with permission.  Questions and Answers are based the Racing Rules of Sailing, 2005-2008. Dave Perry’s 100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes is published by the United States Sailing Association (US SAILING) – 1 (800) 877-2451 or