Quiz 11

Boats S and P, two close-hauled dinghies, are approaching each other on a collision course in medium breeze.  P fails to keep clear and S bears away to pass astern of P.  As she passes astern of P, S accidentally hits the starboard corner of P’s transom, putting a small crack in S’s bow and a 12-inch scratch along her starboard bow.  She is safe to continue the race.  P immediately does a Two-Turn Penalty and protests S.  You are on the protest committee; how would you decide?

Comments are closed.