Quiz 12

Boats L (a leeward boat) and W (a windward boat) are approaching the startĀ­ing line shortly before the starting signal. Both are on starboard tack with W near close-hauled and sailing slowly. L becomes overlapped not far to leeward of W from clear astern. The two boats sail for a few seconds, on parallel courses. L then hails her intention to luff. W immediately reacts by shoving her helm hard to leeward and tacking. During her maneuver, the port corner of W’s transom contacts L near amidships. In her protest, W claims that L became overlapped too close thereby denying W of “room to keep clear” as required by rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way. The protest committee finds that when L became overlapped, W was in fact keeping clear because the boats were not on a collision course and because L would not immediately hit W if L changed course (see definition Keep Clear). The PC further finds that W had enough room to luff away from L provided she luffed slowly. W is penalĀ­ized for breaking rule 11 (a windward boat shall keep clear of a leeward boat). W appeals, claiming that she isn’t required to take any avoiding action until L announces her intention to luff; and at that point she is entitled to room to tack away if she needs it. You are on the appeals committee; how would you decide this?  rulesquiz12graph.jpg In contrast, I could find only four uk supreme court essay writing service usa decisions between 2009 and now that mention dictionaries.

Comments are closed.